Me Made May 2015 and a lot of work

8 May

I’m back again! Me Made May is always a good reason to take up the blogging again. Today I’m going to show you a little bit of what I’m doing at work. At least the sewing related part. As I work in a video production company sewing is no part of my job description. But from time to time I get to use a sewing machine. We shot a fitness DVD and I quickly made some bright pink curtains for the background.
sewing at work
The studio provided me with an old Pfaff sewing machine. I never used a machine like this. There was no manual and no one I could ask. But we got along quite well.
sewing at work
My colleague did some behind the scenes pictures of me while sewing
sewing at work
sewing at work
I know that you normally don’t use black thread for pink curtains. But well, it was the only thread available and the seam was out of frame. The Pfaff and I enjoyed working together. Another thing I sewed were some super hero capes for a mineral water commercial🙂
sewing for work
But since this blog is usually about the clothing I make for me and people I like, let’s talk about the jacket I’m wearing in these pics. In fact it is only a wearable muslin. I made the pattern for this jacket by tracing a RTW jersey jacket I own. I like the shape and fit of this jacket. But it is orange with black lapels and that’s why not very versatile to combine. The fabric was not the best choice for a muslin. It is very very soft and stretches easily. So the pattern pieces got a bit bigger than supposed. I didn’t mind because it were only scraps of leftover fabric from some dresses. But the jacket turned out to be a nice cardigan, even away from the sofa.
detail fabrics grey jersey jacket
grey jersey jacket
The original jacket has no seams in the lapel. My limited amount of fabric forced me to improvise. Also the lapel never lays flat because both fabrics are so soft and drapy and I’m interfacing lazy (Does this word even exist? But I really almost only use interfacing when sewing bags or purses)
grey jersey jacket
We used the opportunity of having a well lit studio to shoot some pics of my second version of this jacket too. I made it to wear to my class reunion (yes, my A-levels are 10 years ago now). Back then I designed the t-shirt everyone wore on the last day of school (a little alien standing on a pile of books that reaches from the earth to the universe, to symbolise how far our education will get us…very pathetic, I know🙂 ) I wasn’t sure if I really got something to compete with my fellow pupils (Well, I studied and graduated as engineer in multimedia technologies and I have a job I really like… but you know there are always these doctors and people working in big companies and stuff like this) So I thought probably no one of them would fit in the t-shirt from our last day at school.  I planned to wear it with my comfy pencil skirt . There was some green jersey in my stash that matched the green of the t-shirt. I dug a bit deeper and found some remnants of the skirt fabric. When placing the pattern pieces onto it I couldn’t mind the grain of the fabric. So I had a hard time sewing the two types of more or less stretchy fabric together without getting wavy seams.
detail green jersey jacketdetail green jersey jacket
Some time after I finished my second version Schnittchen released the pattern Mona. It would have saved me quite some work to just buy this pattern instead of making my own. Although my jacket has some different details. It has a round, kind of princess seam in the front that works like a bust dart. The back is longer than the front but in contrast to the Mona jacket it is rounded in my version and has no seam/vent. Now you are curious to see the jacket in action? Well, here we go:

jersey jacket in action

Yes, it was the shooting of a fitness trampoline DVD and no, these shoes are not adequate to use it…


If action meant class reunion to you… I took off the jacket soon because it was to warm in there. But I have this re-creation of our former class photo as an evidence I actually wore it.
evidence class reunion
And If you made it all the way through this post just because you wanted to know how my Me Made May went untill know, I will not let you wait any longer. I wore the jacket on day 06. The last couple of days I didn’t have a photographer at hand. I’m not a selfie person but it’s Me Made May and I want to document the outfits on the day I actually wore them.
Thank you for stopping by!
MMM15_01
MMM15_02
MMM15_03
MMM15_04
MMM15_05
MMM15_06
MMM15_07 MMM15_08

One Response to “Me Made May 2015 and a lot of work”

  1. lsaspacey May 12, 2015 at 16:35 #

    Wow, I love that jacket and what a great outfit it made with the t-shirt! Looking at your first May week, I love all of your clothes, I may have to look back at the posts for some of them for more details.

Leave a Reply

