I’m dreaming of a white… dress

4 Dec

Well, it was a bit more needing than dreamingđŸ™‚ In summer I was invited to a big birthday party with dresscode ‘white’. I don’t have a white dress in my closet because I thought I am very white myself and I probably look like a corpse when wearing white. The dress should definitely have a bit of colour as a little accent and to proof that I’m not naked. I did some sketches and hacked it from the well tested ( 1 , 2 and 3) Burda easy dress. Which means omitting the drapy front thing, altering the neckline to a round one and adding the triangles of contrasting fabric.

white jersey dress
white jersey dress
I even got a picture from the dress in action on the dancefloor. I really like my white dress but it was a strange feeling beeing around all these white dressed people. It felt a bit like accidentally getting into a sect.

white dress in action
To insert the triangles I cut them from the pattern piece and added seam allowance to both the white and the coloured pieces. I thought it would be a nice feature to end the skirt triangle some centimetres above the hem. Therefor I hemmed that pieces before sewing it onto the white skirt pieces.

detail coloured triangle in white jersey dress
detail coloured triangle in white jersey dress
As I present my projects not only here on my blog but also on Burda Style it happend that I got chosen to be featured, with my laced up Pants and my wrap blouse. It is not the first time this happend and like always I didn’t even notice it myself (because I usually don’t scroll that far down the front page). But some kind Burda member notified me in the comments.
featured member project
featured member project

 
Although I still have some garments sewn but not posted I started working on my Christmas outfit. The sketch is ready, I have all patterns (2 of 3 already traced) and fabrics are chosen. I even finished the first garment. Hope to keep the pace so I can finish it in time. Do you have Christmas sewing plans? Are they maybe already finished or do you still work on it on Christmas Eve?

2 Responses to “I’m dreaming of a white… dress”

  1. lsaspacey December 4, 2014 at 16:39 #

    Great way to add interest to a white dress! For the first time, in a long time I am attempting a holiday outfit. It took me almost all day to cut it out yesterday (it is a plaid), hopefully I can sew it together faster than that since I leave on the 23rd and work a lot in the mean time. Wish me luck.

  2. MadeByMeg December 4, 2014 at 22:17 #

    I love the pop of print on that dress, and how you incorporated it. Really makes you stand out in the crowd!

Leave a Reply

