Polka Dancing Dots Dress

26 May

There is this lovely pattern called ‘Polka Dots’. I did a bit of research and found out that there is no real connection to the dance called Polka. I thought it would be nice if the dots were not equaly spaced so they look more as if they were dancing. That ment that I had to add the dots myself. As the base for my dress I used the pattern of my recent peplum top from Burda Style (Peplum Top 08/2012) I did the same alteration again: no zipper and therefor no seam in the back, sleeves from another pattern (the original sleeves had darts on the elbow … what for? ), dropped the seam allowance and had to take it in some centimetres at the sides. To make it a dress I just added about 20cm to the hem.

peplum top into dress polka dotspolka_dancing_dots_dress_back

If you are wondering why my hair tie matches the dress so perfectly … it’s just because its a scrap from the shortening of the sleeves. I have some lovely hair ties from my Swimming Pool Dress too :)

We had some difficulties taking these photos since it rained cats and dogs the whole day … we were attending a Jugendweihe celebration (a ceremony in which 14-year-olds are given adult social status) in an nice open air location (at least it is nice when the sun is shining … ) We had to ran to a huge parasol so we stayed dry for the shooting.

dress from peplum top burda polka dots

I really like the hi-low hemline of this pattern

The jersey I used (a mystery blend of something synthetic … that’s what the burn test told me … and something from an animal … that’s what the little hairs sticking out here and there told me) was very light and slightly transparent. You can see the freezing wind playing with my skirt here:

dress from pelum top pattern burda polka dots

Little Mia came over for a little photo bombing. (A nice little girl that kept us entertained the whole time)

polka dot dress mia

I did the dots using fabric paint and the rubber of a pencil … like I did for the necklace on the Trompe l’œil Shirt for my friend.

polka_dancing_dots_dress_neckline

And I even did a matching nail design :)

polka_dancing_dots_dress_nails

So this was what I wore for day 25 of Me-Made-May’13:

Me-Made-May'13 Day25

Just one week to go … and I made it till here without a repetition of a garment and I made 3 new pieces … although I didn’t dare to make a pledge saing that.

4 Responses to “Polka Dancing Dots Dress”

  1. Cirque Du Bebe May 26, 2013 at 23:31 #

    Such a special dress, you look like someone out of a modern fairytale. Loving it with those shoes too!

  2. Kelly May 27, 2013 at 05:29 #

    This is really lovely and original, I like it a lot!

  3. Jacinta May 27, 2013 at 07:03 #

    Looks great as a knit! Must try that. :)

  4. Rejoice For The Day May 27, 2013 at 16:46 #

    Love this dress!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

