May-Made Shirt

9 May

The Me-Made-May works well for me so far. Everyday another selfmade garment with no repetition yet. Now I managed to actually sew something new for me. Lovely Katarina, another  Berlin based blogger, inspired me to try this pattern, BurdaStyle V-Back Top 106 09/2012. I liked her Mockblood version. I decided to do the piping as well. In the end I made no real piping, just folded jersey stripes inserted in the darts.
Me-Made-May'13 Day09
Katarina wrote, that she chose a size bigger than her usual size to get a slouchy look. Since normal sized tops look slouchy on me anyway I did the opposite. Once again smallest size available was a 36. As my usual SDA (Skinny Dwarf Adjustment) I omitted the seam allowance to grade it down. I didn’t add volume interfacing to the collar like the instructions told me. Why would I want to force the collar to stick out? My fabric was way lighter than the fabrics Burda used for their versions. It’s more a light everyday top than a jumper.

BurdaStyle V-Back Top 106 09/2012

V-back of the V-Back Top

fake piping

Fake piping in shoulder seam and darts

Today was a holiday again. We went on a hill and then to a lake. And yes I went into the lake … at least ankle-deep :)
first time in the lake this year
And now the recap of my Me-Made-May so far

Me-Made-May'13 Day03
Me-Made-Mai '13 Day04
Me-Made-May'13 Day05
Me-Made-May'13 Day06
Me-Made-May'13 Day07
Me-Made-May'13 Day08

I really enjoy taking part in the Me-Made-May. I got so much encouraging feedback and discovered so many inspiring people. A big hug to the whole sewing community!

9 Responses to “May-Made Shirt”

  1. Nicoline May 9, 2013 at 20:31 #

    Hi Carolin,
    Your blog is great – I nominated you for a Liebster Award! I hope you’ll play along and pass it on!
    Nicoline http://therecklessneedle.blogspot.ie/2013/05/liebster-award.html

    • schmidten May 9, 2013 at 20:38 #

      Hallo Nicoline,
      thank you so much for nominating me! Of course I will pass it on!

  2. Lelie May 9, 2013 at 20:58 #

    What a pretty shirt. I really like the “piping”.

  3. eclecticthreads May 9, 2013 at 21:42 #

    Great outfits! Especially the green skirt :)

  4. marjtrundler May 9, 2013 at 23:21 #

    I too really like your outfits and your style. The piping in this top is a lovely detail. I made this top in a stripe fabric and whilst I am happy with it, stripes are not really suited to this pattern. I may just have to give piping a go in the plain navy top I have ready to sew. I will look forward to seeing what you are going to wear for the rest of May.

  5. Rejoice For The Day May 10, 2013 at 14:09 #

    You have great style! And some really cool pictures to document your month. Love all of these outfits. :-)

  6. Carolyn May 12, 2013 at 10:25 #

    You have looked absolutely gorgeous each day during me-made May. I love all of your creations :)

  7. Louise - There She Sews May 12, 2013 at 12:42 #

    Just discovered your blog. I love the Skinny Dwarf Adjustments – often happens to me too :-) And I have to say that the idea with your hand and the days for each photo is really brilliant and so well done.

  8. debbi May 15, 2013 at 20:11 #

    oh i love them all, you wear them so well too. inspiration for me! thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

