Filling other people’s closets

23 Apr

It’s not like there was nothing happening on my sewing table lately…I just didn’t find time to write about it. In order to increase my blogging frequency I will join the ‘MeMadeMay2013′. I hope I have enough wearable me-made garments in my closet yet.
Most of the items I sewed in the last weeks were for other people. Well, I made myself a shirt out of jersey remnants…I learned a lot from it…but I don’t have a wearable shirt in the end. Maybe I will be brave enough to post it next time, once I fixed the neckline…
I planned to sew a dress for my mum to wear to a wedding. I even made a muslin and bought the fabric. But then the dresscode for the wedding was revealed and we had to start over again. I’ll post the dress soon. I just have to finish the matching bag.
My colleague asked me, if I could sew her a long dress for summer. She had two similar dresses that started to fall apart because she wore them a lot. I bought some very nice rayon for this dress. I was very pleased when I managed to transfer her measurements into a pattern for the dress. But soon I realised that there wasn’t enough fabric for the lining. I had some similar rayon in my stash. But it had a quite dark lavender colour. So my dear friend bleach was back in the game again. The colour changed to a soft pink that was light enough to not shine through the pale rayon of the dress.

detail of the lining

soft pink lining

lining of the dress

lining finished with a tiny hem

The dress fit her perfect. We just had to adjust the length. (I couldn’t test the length on myself, because even with my highest shoes I’m not as tall as the average german woman)

easy summer dress

ready for summer!

Because there wasn’t any sign of summer and I didn’t have any measurements I opted for the approved hi-low shirt when I planned a birthday present for another friend. I know that she likes stars ( at least I think so, because she has one tattooed in a very prominent place) I divided the pattern in different pieces and added a pocket again. I put some paper stars on one piece an sprinkled it with fabric paint (no bleach this time… I tested it, of course…but it didn’t work the way I want it). As always I would have kept it for myself if she didn’t like it…

hi-low shirt the fifth

Hi-low shirt number five

hi-low shirt with pocket

Stash busting in it’s nicest form


I hope to give you something new to read and see quite soon!!!

2 Responses to “Filling other people’s closets”

  1. Lelie April 23, 2013 at 21:56 #

    You made some lovely pieces!

  2. marjtrundle April 23, 2013 at 23:27 #

    I love the tee shirt that you have so generously made for your friend.The star detail is so pretty and makes the tee shirt interesting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

