Emerald Green Blouse

17 Mar

I finally found the reason why I didn’t sew the blouse last year. I just had to wait until Pantone declared Emerald to colour of the year :)

The pattern I used is the Folded Yoke Blouse 122 from BurdaStyle 10/2012. Since this is my first blouse I wanted to try something not too complex. The folded yoke is a nice detail. To add even more details I cut little leather arrows and stitched them to the cut out pattern pieces.

green blouse burda 122 10 2012
green blouse burda 122 10 2012
The fabric was a nightmare to work with. It is not elastic und crinkles very easyly. But it is Emerald green and has a nice shimmer (It’s a remnant of my last years christmas dress and it cost almost nothing. I bought it in Portugal two years ago).Once again I omitted the seam allowance to grade the pattern. The smallest size was a 36. But there were some parts where I added a bit of allowance. For example the facings. I hate facings, because they never stay where they belong. I thought when they are to small they are even more sneaky. My Swimming Pool Dress was the first and only garment, where the sleeves fit the hole right away. Setting in the sleeves of this blouse cost me a lot of nervs … and the final result is just acceptable. I hope that the many other details of the blouse just draw the attention off that area.

leather arrows and letter buttons
There is still a freezy wind blowing around here. The folded yokes definitely attracted it’s attention.

yoke blowing in the wind

yoke blowing in the wind

The final step of every sewing project is documenting it with photos. That’s one of the hardest steps for me. I tend to look like a doused poodle. And I just don’t know how to pose … today we tried some more experimental poses … and that’s my favourite one :D

green_blouse_super_pose
I just noticed that today is St. Patricks Day … the perfect day for a green blouse :)

So now I finally accomplished everything from my last years To-Sew list.
I got a Fashionary for birthday from my good friend Stef. Beside the fact that the printed silhouettes have abnormal long necks and legs the book is fabulous! I do sketches of garments I want to sew once they pop up in my mind. So this year I have no To-Sew list. I just pick a sketch out of my Fashionary. Next in line is a sequin skirt and a matching top.
Thank you for your visit! Hope to welcome you again soon …

One Response to “Emerald Green Blouse”

  1. Lyndle November 23, 2013 at 04:57 #

    Beautiful blouse! I love what you’ve done with the leather arrows, that s really cool!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

