Defeating the cold and my weaker self

26 Jan

After returning from the snowy mountains the winter returned to Berlin with me. The mother of my boyfriend knitted me some nice hats…but they have too many holes. You may have noticed that I have a crush on jersey…so I decided to sew a hat from it. I did some research on Pinterest and Google and liked the turban style the most. It’s easy and quick to sew. I think some more colours will follow…

turban style jersey hat
hat_side
hat_back

Although I’m quite skinny I’m not sporty at all. A friend asked me to join her for a fitness course at the adult education centre. I really need a compensation for the hours of sitting in front of a computer. Especially my back asks for it. I bought a nice pair of pants (they were on sale…I would never spend 80€ on sport pants)

lacoste jersey pants

lacoste jersey pants

The pants have this nice drape on one leg. I wanted to resample that in a shirt. I took my selfdrafted pattern of the high-low-shirt and added three pleats on one arm. Actually I wanted to leave the pleats open like the ones on the pants… but it looked like a balloon of fabric over my breast (and I don’t need this amount of fabric in this place) I solved this issue by topstitching them.

pleated shirt

hilo_sportshirt_detail

hilo_sportstop

adidas zx7020

The shirt and the hair ties match my shoes :)

Beside my victory over the cold and my inner weakness this week had a sad end. One of my colleagues (a very good friend) is moving to another city (at the other end of Germany). Once I made her a logo and a website (www.stefaniespeh.de). She also got a shirt with a matching brooch for birthday.

olive green shirt burda

shirt and brooch as birthday present

As a farewell present I made her the bird from her logo as an cuddly toy. Of course from jersey :)
cuddly toy bird

Next on my to-sew-list is a peplum-top (finally). I already cut the pattern pieces…
Thank you for stopping by!

6 Responses to “Defeating the cold and my weaker self”

  1. AriB January 26, 2013 at 20:47 #

    Really nice work, you put together a stylish and lovely fitness outfit :)

  2. Marjorie Trundle January 26, 2013 at 22:52 #

    Having found you on BurdaStyle and appreciating your creative skills, I will look forward to your future projects. (Schnui)

    • schmidten January 27, 2013 at 13:00 #

      Your appreciation means a lot to me. Thank you for your nice comments.

  3. grtescp January 27, 2013 at 15:11 #

    i love that top, those pleats really make it special. I am a real t-shirt person, but always looking for slightly more stylish idea than just plain tees! I might use this as inspiration (if you don’t mind) :)

  4. lizzylili January 27, 2013 at 22:44 #

    love the hat also: a mix between the 40′s and flemish painting!

  5. prolificprojectstarter May 4, 2014 at 18:58 #

    I like the pleat detail, very stylish.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

