Trompe l’œil pearls

24 Nov

Next on my sewing list was a denim skirt. But suddenly it was the birthday of a good friend. She liked the oversized top I made using this pattern from BurdaStyle.
This time I replaced the facings with my beloved facing stripes. It gives a clean finish and since you can see the inside of the sleeves through the big armholes they should look nice there too.
My friend has a website (Chansonkritik) on which she discusses concerts and records of mostly German musicians. I wanted to make this shirt her work wear by painting the logo on it. But not only the logo…
There seems to be a (not new) trend in fashion: trompe l’œil. Back in the early 1950ies Hermes paintes scarves and collars on dresses.

trompe l’oeil hermes

And Moschino had a lot of trompe l’œil pieces in it’s pre-fall 2012 collection

trompe l’oeil moschino pre-fall 2012

My trompe l’œil is a pearl necklace I “painted” by stamping every pearl with the rubber of a pencil.

stamped pearls
oversized shirt

oversized shirt back

The necklace continues around the neck (of course … otherwise it would fall down)

oversized shirt with pearl necklace

I even crafted a little label. I have a stamp where you can write your own text with little rubber letters. The ink should be washable till 90˚C ( but the fabric paint on the shirt only allows 40˚C anyway) I like its imperfection…that’s the schmidt that happens :)
schmidt happens label

Maybe I get the denim skirt finished the next week… but today I got an invitation to a wedding that’s on december 2oth … so I “have to” sew myself a dress (and I don’t even know what it will look like at the moment…any suggestions?)

4 Responses to “Trompe l’œil pearls”

  1. esther December 11, 2012 at 13:53 #

    hello, i find your project so good.Wich size did you take? I’m asking you that because i’m going do this blouse for a bithday friend’s present. And also what kind of sewing machine do you use?i’m pretty curious isn’t it? take care , cherio !!!

    • schmidten December 11, 2012 at 14:31 #

      Hello Elise,
      I bought this pattern as a download pattern on the burdastyle website. It’s a pattern for tall people (and I’m the opposite, just 1,57m). So I printed it out at only 90% and cut out the smallest size (that was a 76…before grading). Usually I need a size 32/34. My friend I made this for has a size 36 and said that it fits just perfect. Since this is a pattern without shoulder seams and with loose fit I think you can wear this size from 32 till 38.
      I used a serger for this shirt, but I made it before using a normal sewing machine. I used the normal machine with a twin-needle for the armholes and the hem (so it stays a bit stretchable)
      Hope that helps. Just get back to me, if you have any further questions.

      • lizzylili December 13, 2012 at 17:31 #

        thank’s for replying so promptly! Ionly just see your answer now…and it helps me.
        I’m not using jersey this time.I find it’s not so easy to understand how i must do the sleeves part but it’s nearly finished.Will send you a photo.on your e mail box perhaps?also i love all your sewing projects!

      • schmidten December 13, 2012 at 17:57 #

        I would love to see a photo of your finished shirt.
        Hope to post something new soon…maybe you like it too :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

